Math

The Rio Mesa High School Math Department offers students a range of college preparatory and advanced courses from Integrated Math 9 to IB Math HL and AP Calculus AB.  To help all students succeed in math, the department emphasizes the use of technology, including access to online textbooks in many courses that have embedded tutorials and reinforcement of concepts, as well as graphing utilities that increase conceptual understanding.

Rio Mesa High School provides a variety of support services for struggling students, including lunch and after school tutoring provided by various teachers, as well as the Saturday ZAP program.

The teachers of the Rio Mesa Math Department believe that ALL students can be successful in math, and will work with students to achieve that success.

Courses

Integrated Math 9

Integrated Math 1

Integrated Math 2

Integrated Math 2 honors

Integrated Math 3

Integrated Math 3 honors

(all integrated Math 1-3 have a cohort for Merit students available)

Practical Math

Descriptive Statistics

Precalculus

IB Math Studies SL

AP Calculus AB

IB Math HL (2-yr course, calculus strand)

Teachers

Anna Binney

anna.binney@oxnardunion.org

Department chair

International Baccalaureate program teacher

IB Middle Years Program subject lead

 

Jeremiah Brennan

jeremiah.brennan@oxnardunion.org

Merit Academy teacher

 

Marleen Gracom

marleen.gracom@oxnardunion.org

 

Cathy Hewson

cathy.hewson@oxnardunion.org

Merit Academy teacher

 

Diane Keller

diane.keller@oxnardunion.org

 

Yen Law

yen.law@oxnardunion.org

International Baccalaureate program Teacher

 

Jason McClurg

jason.mcclurg@oxnardunion.org

 

Eric Mountcastle

eric.mountcastle@oxnardunion.org

 

Nikki Waller

nikki.waller@oxnardunion.org

Merit Academy teacher

 

Jeff Wrout

jeff.wrout@oxnardunion.org

Helpful Links:

Textbook website for math 1,2, and 3   www.bigideasmath.com

Mathopenref.com  (Constructions)

Geogebra.org

Desmos.com

Mrperezonlinemathtutor.com  (shows animated in color proofs)

Khanacademy.org

Myvue.ouhsd.k12.ca.us (parentvue/studentvue)