Athletics

Daily Athletic Events

RIO MESA COACHES

FALL SPORTS

Football/James Bittner

james.bittner@oxnardunion.org

Boys Cross-Country/Jeff Wrout

jeff.wrout@oxnardunion.org

Girls Cross–Country/Rick Torres

rick.torres@oxnardunion.org

Boys Water Polo/Cody Pletcher

clucoachp@aol.com

Girls Tennis/Ronald Edwards

ronald.edwards@oxnardunion.org

Girls Golf/Tod Deardorff

tod.deardorff@oxnardunion.org

Girls Volleyball/Chris Holdsworth

chris.holdsworth@oxnardunion.org

WINTER SPORTS

Boys Basketball/Kevin Kiech

rio.mesa.spartans.bb@gmail.com

Girls Basketball/Al Walker

al.walker1@verizon.net

Boys Soccer/Brandon Fuchs

brandon.fuchs@oxnardunion.org

Girls Soccer/Gonzalo Rodriguez

gonzalo.rodriguez@oxnardunion.org

Girls Water Polo/Linda Wright

lwright@usawaterpolo.org

Wrestling/Juan Flores

juan.flores@oxnardunion.org

SPRING SPORTS

Baseball/David Soliz

david.soliz@oxnardunion.org

Softball/John Ashley

friscofan11@aol.com

Boys Track/TBA

Girls Track/Rick Torres

rick.torres@oxnardunion.org

Boys & Girls Swimming/Keith McKnett

keith.mcknett@oxnardunion.org

Boys Volleyball/Chris Holdsworth

chris.holdsworth@oxnardunion.org

Boys Golf/Gordy Abellera

gordy.abellera@oxnardunion.org

Boys Tennis/Ronald Edwards

ronald.edwards@oxnardunion.org

ATHLETIC INFORMATION

Boys Basketball

Tryouts for incoming 9th grade students will be on June 16 in the RMHS gym from 1:00 pm – 3:30 pm

Tryouts for 10th-12th grade students will be on June 6 & 7 in the RMHS gym from 6:00 pm – 8:30 pm

Students must be athletically cleared to participate.

Cheer Summer Calendar

2018 Cheer Summer Calendar for July & August

Boys and Girls Cross-Country

1st team meeting will be on July 10th, 2018

2018 Cross Country Running Calendar for August

Football 

2018 Football Calendar

Girls Golf

Parent Meeting on August 23, 2018 at Las Posas G.C. @ 2pm

Practice Datess:

8/23/2018 @ Las Posas G.C. @ 2:00 pm

8/27/2018 @ Sterling Hills G.C. @ 2:00 pm

8/28/2018 @ Spanish Hills G.C. @ 2:00 pm

8/30/2018 @ Las Posas G.C. @ 2:30 pm

8/31/2018 @ Las Posas G.C. @ 2:30 pm

9/5/2018 @ Sterling Hills G.C. @ 2:30 pm

9/11/2018 @ Spanish Hills G.C. @ 2:30 pm

9/12/2018 @ Las Posas G.C. @ 2:00 pm

9/17/2018 @ Sterling Hills G.C. @ 2:30 pm

9/19/2018 @ Sterling Hills G.C. @ 2:30 pm

9/24/2018 @ Sterling Hills G.C. @ 2:30 pm

9/26/2018 @ Las Posas G.C. @ 2:30 pm

10/1/2018 @ Sterling Hills G.C. @ 2:30 pm

10/3/2018 @ Sterling Hills G.C. @ 2:30 pm

10/8/2018 @ Sterling Hills @ 2:30 pm

10/10/2018 @ Sterling Hills G.C. @ 2:30 pm

10/16/2018 @ Spanish Hills G.C. @ 2:30 pm

10/17/2018 @ LPCC @ 2:30 pm

10/18/2018 @ LPCC @ 2:30 pm

Boys Soccer

2018-2019 Boys Soccer Calendar

Girls Soccer

Tryouts for 2018-2019 Season will be on August 20-22 from 9:00 am – 12:00 pm on the RMHS Soccer field.

2018-2019 Girls Soccer Information Flyer

Summer Boys/Girls Swimming Practice Schedule

Every Tuesday & Thursday between 3-4:30 pm from June 19th-July 5th and August 7th-23rd.

Summer Boys/Girls Tennis Practice Schedule

July 10, 12, 17, 19, 24 and 31 from 12:45 pm – 2:45 pm.

August 2, 7, 14, 15, 16, 17, 20, 22 and 23 from 12:45 pm – 3:00 pm.

Girls Volleyball

Dead Period June 1st- June 22nd

Weight training and Conditioning June 25th-July 16th from 5:00 – 7:00 pm in the RMHS Weight Room.

Tryouts July 16-18th for incoming freshmen from 5-7 pm.

JV-FS teams practice Thursday July 19th from 8-10 am and Friday the 20th 5-7 pm.

Summer practice Monday through Friday (except fumigation days) July 23rd until school starts 4-7 pm.  JV/FS will practice 4-6 pm and Varisty 5-7 pm. Varsity will have weight room from 4-5 pm and JV/FS 5-7 pm.

Boys Water Polo
Summer Program-June 18th to July 19th (Recommended)
All incoming 9th graders will be encouraged to participate in the 5 Week Summer Program as long as they meet swimming safety standards, which is to swim for 3 minutes without stopping.

July 20 to August 21-CIF Dead Period: No workouts allowed
August 22-27th-Practice: Spartan Splash Days (TEAM TRYOUTS!!!)
August 27th-Final Roster will be posted for BWP Fall Season

Practice
ALL PLAYERS’ WORKOUT TIMES- Monday-Thursday: 6-8 am and 1-3 pm, Friday- OFF
(A student doesn’t have to participate in this summer program in order to make the Boy’s Water Polo Program in the fall)

CIF Dead Period: No workouts allowed
Practice: Spartan Splash Days (TEAM TRYOUTS!!!!)
Final Roster will be posted for BWP Fall season

Cost: $200; checks made payable to Cody Pletcher
Contact: Coach Cody Pletcher @ clucoachp@aol.com only after 8th grade graduation. CIF Violation if you contact coach before the end of your student’s 8th grade year (Post Graduation). Contact the Athletic Director, Chris Ruffinelli, if you have any questions before graduation.  Contact info for Chris Ruffinelli: Chris.Ruffinelli@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Girls Water Polo

Summer Schedule 2018

Monday-Thursday from June 25 – August 2, 2018

Oxnard Summer League Scrimmages #175 – Must have a current USA Water Polo Membership

(minimum Bronze membership, under Camarillo Titans Club #1361, go to www.usawaterpolo.org to register)

Try it for a week – See if you like it!!!