About Science

Welcome to the Rio Mesa High School Science Department! We offer a wide range of science classes geared towards your meeting the Oxnard Union High School District’s graduation requirements as well as the University of California’s “a-g” entrance requirements. You will have countless opportunities to explore hands-on science through experimentation, research, and the use of new technologies in all your science classes. The Science Department is proud to be part of Rio Mesa’s International Baccalaureate (IB) Program, currently offering two levels of IB Chemistry to our juniors and seniors.

As a freshman at Rio Mesa, you’ll be able to choose between Earth Science CP (college prep) and Physical Science Honors. Most students also take Health in their freshmen year.

Sophomores choose between Biology Lab (college prep), Biology Lab Honors and Biology- Advanced Placement (AP). Robotics is also available to sophomores, juniors and seniors as an elective.

Juniors and seniors have many choices: Chem Study (college prep), IB Chemistry HLA and HLB, IB Chemistry SL, Environmental Science (CP), Marine Biology (CP) and Physiology (CP).

Physics (CP) and Physics C Advanced Placement (AP) are typically taken by seniors but are also available to juniors.

We invite you to email our teachers if you have any questions about the science courses we offer!

Faculty

Corene DuarteCorene Duarte
805-278-1550
corene.duarte@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Ronald Edwards
805-278-2970
ronald.edwards@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Beulah JoBeulah Jo
805-278-3150
beulah.jo@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Kimberly MaKimberly Ma
805-278-1687
kimberly.ma@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Keith McKnett
805-278-1722
keith.mcknett@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Rano SidhuRano Sidhu
805-278-3193
rano.sidhu@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Rick TorresRick Torres
805-278-1828
rick.torres@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Pete Weinerth
805-278-1844
pete.weinerth@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Lorraine Wood-Newberry
805-278-1853
lorraine.wood.newber@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Chris HoldenChris Holden
805-278-1606
chris.holden@ouhsd.k12.ca.us