Skip To Main Content

Attendance

Research shows that the single most important factor contributing to student achievement is regular attendance. A student who is absent from school may be able to complete missed assignments, but other important aspects of lessons are lost. 

Absent students miss out on important discussions, questions raised, explanations, and so much more. Students fall behind and sometimes never recover. What a student misses in one class session is needed as a foundation for what will be learned in the future. 

Parent SQuare 

Please report absences via response to your Parent Square Attendance notification

OR

☎️ Attendance Hotline: 805-278-5511 ☎️

ATTENDANCE WINDOW HOURS:

Monday-Thursday:

 8-8:24 a.m.

Nutrition & lunch time

Friday:

8:45-9:05 a.m.

Nutrition & lunch time

Picture of Attendance Office Windows

What do I do if my child is absent from school?

Best practice is to have your child return to school with a written note stating the following:

  1. Student Name
  2. Student ID Number
  3. Date and Reason for the absence
  4. Your contact number
  5. Your signed name as the parent/guardian.

This note is to be submitted to the Attendance Window located at the back windows of the office (see times to the left). 

Per State Law and Board Policy, you must verify each absence within 72 hours of the absence. After 72 hours, unverified absences are considered unexcused.

You may also call the RMHS  Attendance Office at (805) 278-5511 to leave a message with the same information required on the written note. 

All notes and call logs received are stored in your student’s attendance folder. Please do not leave messages on any other phone line or leave notes in any other location on campus. 

You can monitor your child’s attendance on ParentVUE

What if I need to pick up my student?

You must come to the office to sign your student out of school. Under no circumstances will a student be allowed to leave with any person other than his/her parent or guardian without written consent.  For the safety of our students, we are required to see a Photo ID

Leaving campus without clearance will be treated as a truancy.


 

How do I obtain an off campus pass?

In order to obtain an off campus pass and get your student to their appointment on time, you must bring a note signed and dated with the reason and time of release for your student. This will avoid disrupting the instructional environment. 

Off campus passes are distributed by the Attendance Office and/or the Front Office windows. 


 

Attendance Advisor

Lupe Peña
805-718-8680
lupe.pena@oxnardunion.org

Attendance Accounting Technician

Ms. Mary Lopez
805-278-5511
mary.lopez@oxnardunion.org


FAQs


 

What is considered an excused absence?

Per Ed Code [EC 48205], valid or excused absences are:

  1. Student illness
  2. Student medical/dental appointment
  3. Illness or medical appointment during school hours of a child to whom the student is the custodial parent
  4. Quarantine under the direction of a county or city health officer. 
  5. Attendance of funeral of an immediate family member:
    (a) one day - within California;
    (b) three days - outside of California or outside the United States
  6. Specific religious activities, court orders, and limited visits with immediate family members called to or returning from military combat duty

 

How many excused absences can my child have in one year?

You will receive an Excessive Excused Absence Notification in the mail after eight excused absences (missing class time 30 minutes or more of any day). You will receive a Second Excessive Excused Absence Notification in the mail after twelve excused absences. At that point, you will be asked to contact our Attendance Advisor to discuss ways to improve your child’s attendance.  

After reaching 14 days of excused absences, all future absences due to illness must be verified by a physician for each day of absence. 


 

What is my child's absences do not fall under any of the excused absence categories?

State law [EC 48260-48273] is very specific about these types of absences. A student whose absences are not within Ed Code [EC 48205] will be marked “unexcused” for the day. These types of absences are also called “truancies.”


 

Doesn't "truancy" mean skipping or ditching school? Why would my child be considered "truant" if I called in his or her absences?

By law [EC 48260-48273], any pupil who misses 30 minutes or more of three or more school days without a valid excuse, whether it’s one period each day or three whole days, is considered truant.


 

What should I do if my student will be coming in late or leaving early for an appointment?

Compulsory Education Law requires that students attend FULL days every day. Losing 30 minutes or more of instructional time also considered a truancy if it does not fall within Ed Code 48205 .

Make sure that you send your student to school on the day of an appointment with a doctor’s note to excuse the absence.  Students must return the pink off campus pass to the Attendance Office the following day signed by a parent in order for absences to be cleared.


 

What happens when students have more than three unexcused absences?

Letters are automatically generated approximately every two weeks alerting you of your child’s attendance. You will receive a “First Notification of Truancy” after your child’s 3rd unexcused absence. You will receive a “Second Notification of Truancy” after your child’s 5th unexcused absence.

Depending on the severity of absences, you will be asked to attend a meeting with the Attendance Advisor to discuss how to improve your child’s attendance.

If your child’s attendance doesn’t improve after the conference and the 10th unexcused absence occurs, you may receive a “Third Notification of Truancy” and could be scheduled for a School Attendance Review Team meeting.  This team of educators and members of the community will review your child’s attendance record and situation to provide support and intervention to encourage improved attendance. Should attendance continue to be an issue after this meeting,  penalties may be issued.


 

What can I do if my child has a chronic illness that prevents them from being at school regularly?

OUHSD offers alternative educational options for students with special circumstances that have been verified by a physician. Please contact your student’s counselor if you are in this situation.


 

What if my child needs to be out of school for an extended period of time?

If your child must go out of town for five or more days, you may request that your child be signed up for an Independent Study Agreement by their counselor. Please note that teachers will need at least one week in advance to prepare materials.


 

What can I do if my child has a chronic illness that prevents them from being at school regularly?

If your child must go out of town for five or more days, you may request that your child be signed up for an Independent Study Agreement by their counselor. Please note that teachers will need at least one week in advance to prepare materials.