Counseling

ABOUT THE COUNSELING DEPARTMENT

The Rio Mesa High School Counselors are dedicated to helping you throughout your high school career. We offer academic, personal, social, and college to career counseling. As servants to our students we are student advocates and provide referrals to community agencies.

For parents, we provide educational and long-range planning, ensure a positive learning environment, and will connect you to Parent VUE, our online access to student attendance and academic progress. In addition, we provide information and events for community agencies, ROP, and assist foreign exchange students. Finally, we work in close partnership with the College and Career Center to provide services and information to colleges, trade schools, financial aid, scholarships, and the military.

Counselors

To schedule and appointment with a counselor, please contact the Guidance Tech. 

Christian Zuniga          A-DE                         christian.zuniga@oxnardunion.org

Carri McDevitt             DF-GOL & AVID      carri.mcdevitt@oxnardunion.org

Cristela Arriaga           GOM-MENC             cristela.arriaga@oxnardunion.org

Kristene Kenney          MEND-RO               kristene.kenney@oxnardunion.org

Sylvia Gomez               RP-Z & IB Career Program  sylvia.gomez@oxnardunion.org

Cuba Montero             Special Programs (ELD, IB Diploma, Foster, Migrant Ed & Exchange                                              Students)                 cuba.montero@oxnardunion.org

Karen Correa               EAOP Counselor    karen.correa@oxnardunion.org

Intervention Specialist   Rafael Cahue     rafael.cahue@oxnardunion.org

Viridiana Duran    Guiandance Tech   (805) 278-3164

Helpful Information

For most up-to-date information, follow us on Twitter @RMHS_Counselors

Emergency Resources

  • Interface Crisis Hotline – 211
  • Kids 2 Kids – (805)573-0752 or (805)640-1632
  • Food Pantry at Saint Paul’s – (805)643-5033
  • Catholic Charities – (805)486-2900
  • Rescue Mission – (805)487-1234
 

Support Groups

Rio Mesa offers the following Support Groups with professional therapists during the school day:

  • Grief
  • Teen Issues
  • Drug/ alcohol and tobacco

For more information about these groups, please contact your school counselor.