Skip To Main Content

English

The largest department at Rio Mesa High School, the English department educates all students on campus. Populated with consummate professionals, the English department has high expectations for all students across grade and class levels. Through standardized vocabulary, writing projects, literary analysis, and other standards-based practices, students are able to easily transition from one level to another with confidence.  We offer a variety of classes to accommodate every student at every level from remedial reading to honors. 

As a reflection of our highly qualified instructors, many Rio Mesa teachers have led workshops at the school, district, county and state levels.  It is the English department’s goal to produce Spartans who are responsible, healthy and productive citizens, problem solvers, and academic achievers who can effectively communicate in a global world by exemplifying the IB Learner’s Profile.

For the 2021-2022 school year, the district focus is increasing students' critical and abstract thinking about rigorous grade level text. Our school focus is on research both informational and media literacy with an emphasis on academic honesty

english 1 r / Reading 9R4

Carl Melhorn
Room 34
carl.melhorn@oxnardunion.org

English 1 AVID

Derrick Timmons
Room P6
derrick.timmons@oxnardunion.org

English 1 Honors

Cindy Stancil
Room 102 (Rm 44)
cindy.stancil@oxnardunion.org

English 1

Aaron Bouffard/Verity Olliff/Charlie Soto
Room 32
verity.olliff@oxnardunion.org
charles.soto@oxnardunion.org

Mia Chancer/Ingrid Brennan/Vicente Lopez
Room 107
ingrid.brennan@oxnardunion.org
vicente.lopez@oxnardunion.org

Laurie Hagberg
Room 13
laurie.hagberg@oxnardunion.org

Jessa Reed
Room 7
jessa.reed@oxnardunion.org

Derrick Timmons
Room P6
derrick.timmons@oxnardunion.org

Robert Zermeno
Room 6
robert.zermeno@oxnardunion.org

What 9th grade course should I choose?


 

English 2R

Veronica Renteria
Room 27
veronica.renteria@oxnardunion.org

English 2 AVID

Lisette Severin
Room T-4
lisette.severin@oxnardunion.org

English 2 Honors

Lucy Nakamoto
Room T-6
lucy.nakamoto@oxnardunion.org

English 2

Michael Le Sueur
Room 26
micheal.lesueur@oxnardunion.org

Lucy Nakamoto
Room T-6
lucy.nakamoto@oxnardunion.org

Jessa Reed
Room 7
jessa.reed@oxnardunion.org

Lisette Severin
Room T-4
lisette.severin@oxnardunion.org

Robert Zermeno
Room 6
robert.zermeno@oxnardunion.org


 

English 3

Mia Chancer/Ingrid Brennan/Vicente Lopez
Room 107/P-2/7/13
ingrid.brennan@oxanrdunion.org
vicente.lopez@oxnardunion.org

Salima Houdoud
Room 106 (Room 43)
salima.houdoud@oxnardunion.org

Michael Le Sueur
Room 26
michael.lesueur@oxnardunion.org

English 3 AVID

Michael Le Sueur
Room 26
michael.lesueur@oxnardunion.org

IB English 3 SL

John Tierney
Room 33
john.tierney@oxnardunion.org
 

IB English 3 HL

Michelle Martinez
Room T-5
michelle.martinez@oxnardunion.org


 

English 4 ERWC

Aaron Bouffard/Verity Olliff/Charlie Soto
Room 32
verity.olliff@oxnardunion.org
charles.soto@oxnardunion.org

Laurie Hagberg
Room 13
laurie.hagberg@oxnardunion.org

Cindy Stancil
Room 102 (Rm 44)
cindy.stancil@oxnardunion.org

English 4 ERWC AVID

Cindy Stancil
Room 102 (Rm 44)
cindy.stancil@oxnardunion.org

Film Analysis

John Tierney
Room 33
john.tierney@oxnardunion.org

Mexican/Chicano Literature

Veronica Renteria
Room 27
veronica.renteria@oxnardunion.org

Sandra.Tchiprout
Room T-3
sandra.tchiprout@oxnardunion.org

IB English 4 SL

Derrick Timmons
Room P-6
derrick.timmons@oxnardunion.org

IB English 4 HL

Sandra Tchiprout
Room T-3
sandra.tchiprout@oxnardunion.org


 

Typical English Pathways -- All of these pathways lead to CSU/UC A-G completion:

English R/CP Pathway
English CP Pathway
English CP/IB Pathway
English AVID Pathway
English H/IB Pathway