Skip To Main Content

Maths

The Rio Mesa High School Math Department offers students a range of college preparatory and advanced courses from Foundations of Math to IB Math HL and AP Calculus AB.  To help all students succeed in math, the department emphasizes the use of technology, including access to online textbooks in many courses that have embedded tutorials and reinforcement of concepts, as well as graphing utilities that increase conceptual understanding.

Rio Mesa High School typically provides a variety of support services for struggling students, including office hours and tutoring provided by various teachers. 

The teachers of the Rio Mesa Math Department believe that ALL students can be successful in math, and will work with students to achieve that success.

Our school focus is on research both informational and media literacy with an emphasis on academic honesty

Most courses are accessed on the Oxnard Online/Canvas platform

Click for Canvas

Integrated Math 1 IELD

Eric Coreas
Room 54
eric.coreas@oxnardunion.org

Integrated Math 1

Eric Coreas
Room 54
eric.coreas@oxnardunion.org

Katie Frederick
Room P-3
katie.frederick@oxnardunion.org

Ruben Jacquez
Room 52
ruben.jacquez@oxnardunion.org

Diane Keller
Room 101 (Room 50)
diane.keller@oxnardunion.org

Yen Law
Room P-5
yen.law@oxnardunion.org

Isaac Pitman
Room 18
isaac.pitman@oxnardunion.org

Reema Rana
Room 19
reema.rana@oxnardunion.org

Bill Reid
Room 4
william.reid@oxnardunion.org

Brooke Shapiro
Room 16
brooke.shapiro@oxnardunion.org


 

Integrated Math 2

Ruben Jacquez
Room 52
ruben.jacquez@oxnardunion.org

Isaac Pitman
Room 18
isaac.pitman@oxnardunion.org

Reema Rana
Room 19
reema.rana@oxnardunion.org

Brooke Shapiro
Room 16
brooke.shapiro@oxnardunion.org

Integrated Math 2 Honors

Nikki Hansen
Room P-4
nikki.hansen@oxnardunion.org


 

Integrated Math 3

Marleen Gracom
Room 53
marleen.gracom@oxnardunion.org

Yen Law
Room P-5
yen.law@oxnardunion.org

Integrated Math 3 Applications

Marleen Gracom
Room 53
marleen.gracom@oxnardunion.org

Integrated Math 3 Honors

Anna Binney
Room 55
anna.binney@oxnardunion.org


 

Foundations of Algebra

William Reid
Room 4
william.reid@oxnardunion.org

Jeff Wrout
Room 8
jeff.wrout@oxnardunion.org

Data Science

Ruben Jacquez
Room 52
ruben.jacquez@oxnardunion.org

What is Data Science?

Personal Finance and Business Math

Jeremiah Brennan
Room P-7
jeremiah.brennan@oxnardunion.org

Jeff Wrout
Room 8
jeff.wrout@oxnardunion.org


 

Precalculus

Jeremiah Brennan
Room P-7
jeremiah.brennan@oxnardunion.org

AP Calculus AB

Eric Coreas
Room 54
eric.coreas@oxnardunion.org

IB Math SL: Applications and Interpretations

Anna Binney
Room 55
anna.binney@oxnardunion.org

IB Math HL 1: Applications and INterpretations

Nikki Hansen
Room P-4
nikki.hansen@oxnardunion.org

IB Math HL 2: Applications and INterpretations

Yen Law
Room P-5
yen.law@oxnardunion.org


 

Typical Math Pathway

Flowchart showing common pathways to various maths courses

Helpful Links:

Click the Big Ideas Math logo for website
Click the Math Open Resources screenshot for website
Click the Geogebra logo for website
Click the Desmos logo for website
Click the Mr. Perez Online Math Tutor screenshot for website
Click the Khan Academy logo for website
Click here for access to StudentVue