International Baccalaureate

Candidate school for the Career-related Programme and Middle Years Programme.

FAQ

Click on image above to view video.

To learn more about the International Baccalaureate Diploma Program, click on the link below.

http://www.ibo.org/programmes/diploma-programme/

  • The IB curriculum is the same throughout the United States and the world.
  • AP is a United States program only.
  • IB focuses on a student’s depth of learning not on preparing a student to take an exam.
  • IB courses focus on world perspectives.
  • IB courses involve research and written components. (all courses)
  • IB courses are for Juniors and Seniors; however, freshmen can take courses to prepare for the rigors of IB.
  • Just like AP (Advanced Placement) courses, IB courses offer more rigorous and challenging learning opportunities,
  • Most IB courses provide higher GPA calculations (5.0 scale)
  • Performing well on IB exams provides students with opportunities to earn elective credit at colleges and universities.
  • International Baccalaureate courses are widely recognized by the world’s leading universities because IB students learn more than a collection of facts.
  • The International Baccalaureate (IB) Diploma Program is different from other pre-university courses or assessments in that it is a comprehensive,integrated program that emphasizes international perspectives.
  • IB assessments include multiple, varied forms of external and internal assessment.
  • Recent studies on IB Diploma Program graduates at universities confirm that they perform well and have significantly higher grade point averages and higher graduation rates than students who did not complete the IB Diploma Program. Scores on IB assessments are also a significant predictor of university performance.

IB classes are for any student who wants to challenge him or herself with a higher-level course. Those students who have taken Honors level courses might be better prepared for the workload and challenges of an IB course, but if you are willing to work hard, you will do just fine.

Math Studies SL, Economics SL, History of the Americas HL, English 3 SL and HL, Chemistry SL and HL, Visual Arts SL and HL, Spanish SL (prerequisite required), French SL (prerequisite required), Theory of Knowledge

Both levels are challenging and rigorous. The main difference is in teaching hours per course:  SL courses require a minimum of 150 teaching hours and HL courses require a minimum of 240 hours.  HL courses provide a more in-depth study of a particular subject.

Students can register for just one IB course or as many as six. If you are interested in attaining a full IB Diploma, please see Mrs. Wrout.

All IB courses are calculated on the 5.0 scale except for the following:
Math Studies SL, Spanish SL, Chemistry SL, Theory of Knowledge, and year one of Chemistry HL

Important Resources

The IB calendar lists dates for all major IB assignments, assessments, projects, and orals.

Note:  Calendar information subject to change.  IB students must verify all due dates and tasks with the appropriate IB staff members.

IB Learner Profile
-General Regulations: Diploma Programme
Parents/Guardians: Your student received a salmon-colored declaration of receipt. Please sign and have your student return this
document indicating you have read the General Regulations.
-Academic Honesty and Authenticity Policy/Student Resource Guide
Parents/Guardians: Your student received a salmon-colored declaration of receipt. Please sign and have your student return this
document indicating you have read the Academic Honesty and Authenticity Policy/Student Resource Guide.

-Purdue Online Writing Lab MLA
http://bit.ly/MLApurduewritinglab
-Purdue Online Writing Lab APA

http://bit.ly/purdueAPAwritinglab

Additional resources:
Effective Citing and Referencing
What is Academic Honesty?

IB DIPLOMA PROGRAM SUBJECT TEACHERS:

Anna Binney – Mathematical Studies SL

anna.binney@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Ingrid Brennan – English HL TOK

ingrid.brennan@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Mia Chancer – English SL

mia.chancer@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

David Gonzalez – Spanish B SL

david.gonzalez@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Jeff Holloway – History of the Americas and US History Honors TOK

jeff.holloway@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Salima Houdoud – French B SL

salima.houdoud@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Shi Young Kim – Visual Art HL and SL

shiyoung.kim@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Chris Moody – Economics SL and US History Honors

christopher.moody@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Joan O’Reilly – English SL

joan.oreilly@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Rano Sidhu – Chemistry HL year one and year two

rano.sidhu@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Sandra Tchiprout – English HL

sandra.tchiprout@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Laurena Guizar – History of the Americas and US History Honors

Laurena.guizar@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Lorraine Wood-Newberry – Environmental Systems and Societies SL

lorraine.wood-newberry@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Yen Law – Math HL

Yen.law@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Verity Olliff – English HL, TOK

verity.olliff@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

THE IB DIPLOMA PROGRAM CORE:  TOK, EE, AND CAS

Margery Ricards – Extended Essay

margery.ricards@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Ingrid Brennan – Creativity, Activity, Service (CAS) Advisor

Ingrid.brennan@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

IB DIPLOMA PROGRAM COORDINATION AND COUNSELING:

Cuba Montero IB and Special Programs Counselor

cuba.montero@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Lori Wrout – IB Coordination

lori.wrout@ouhsd.k12.ca.us