International Baccalaureate

What is an IB Education?

Candidate School
Authorized August 2019

FAQ

To learn more about the International Baccalaureate Diploma Program, click on the link below.

http://www.ibo.org/programmes/diploma-programme/

  • The IB curriculum is the same throughout the United States and the world.
  • AP is a United States program only.
  • IB focuses on a student’s depth of learning not on preparing a student to take an exam.
  • IB courses focus on world perspectives.
  • IB courses involve research and written components. (all courses)
  • IB courses are for Juniors and Seniors; however, freshmen can take courses to prepare for the rigors of IB.

  • Just like AP (Advanced Placement) courses, IB courses offer more rigorous and challenging learning opportunities,
  • Most IB courses provide higher GPA calculations (5.0 scale)
  • Performing well on IB exams provides students with opportunities to earn elective credit at colleges and universities.

  • International Baccalaureate courses are widely recognized by the world’s leading universities because IB students learn more than a collection of facts.
  • The International Baccalaureate (IB) Diploma Program is different from other pre-university courses or assessments in that it is a comprehensive, integrated program that emphasizes international perspectives.
  • IB assessments include multiple, varied forms of external and internal assessment.
  • Recent studies on IB Diploma Program graduates at universities confirm that they perform well and have significantly higher grade point averages and higher graduation rates than students who did not complete the IB Diploma Program. Scores on IB assessments are also a significant predictor of university performance.

IB classes are for any student who wants to challenge him or herself with a higher-level course. Those students who have taken Honors level courses might be better prepared for the workload and challenges of an IB course, but if you are willing to work hard, you will do just fine.

Math Studies SL, Economics SL, History of the Americas HL, English 3 SL and HL, Chemistry SL and HL, Visual Arts SL and HL, Spanish SL (prerequisite required), French SL (prerequisite required), Theory of Knowledge

 

Both levels are challenging and rigorous. The main difference is in teaching hours per course:  SL courses require a minimum of 150 teaching hours and HL courses require a minimum of 240 hours.  HL courses provide a more in-depth study of a particular subject.

 

Students can register for just one IB course or as many as six. If you are interested in attaining a full IB Diploma, please see Mrs. Wrout.

 

All IB courses are calculated on the 5.0 scale except for the following:
Math Studies SL, Spanish SL, Chemistry SL, Theory of Knowledge, and year one of Chemistry HL

Resources

The IB calendar lists dates for all major IB assignments, assessments, projects, and orals.

Calendar

Note:  Calendar information subject to change.  IB students must verify all due dates and tasks with the appropriate IB staff members.

RMHS IB Inclusion Policy
RMHS IB Language Policy
RMHS IB Admissions Policy
RMHS Assessment Policy

-IB Learner Profile

Policy Video
General Regulations (Reglamento General del Programa del Diploma)
Academic Honesty and Authenticity Policy/Student Resource Guide (Guía de recursos para estudiantes)

Parents/Guardians:  After reading and reviewing the document entitled General Regulations: Diploma Programme and the document entitled Academic Honesty and Authenticity Policy/Student Resource Guide, please use one of the following links to complete the Google form that serves as your acknowledgment and receipt of said documents. 

Google Form (English)

Padres / tutores: Después de leer y revisar el documento titulado Reglamento General: Programa del Diploma y el documento titulado Política de Honestidad Académica y Autenticidad / Guía de Recursos Estudiantiles, utilice uno de los siguientes enlaces para completar el formulario de Google que sirve como reconocimiento y recibo de dichos documentos. 

Formulario de Google (Español)

-Purdue Online Writing Lab MLA
http://bit.ly/MLApurduewritinglab

-Purdue Online Writing Lab APA

http://bit.ly/purdueAPAwritinglab

Additional resources:
Effective Citing and Referencing
What is Academic Honesty?

IB DIPLOMA PROGRAM SUBJECT TEACHERS:

Cristina Aguirre - Spanish B SL

cristina.aguirre@oxnardunion.org

Anna Binney – Mathematical Studies SL

anna.binney@oxnardunion.org

Ingrid Brennan – English HL TOK

ingrid.brennan@oxnardunion.org

Mia Chancer – English SL

mia.chancer@oxnardunion.org

Carrie Fong – Environmental Systems and Societies SL

carrie.fong@oxnardunion.org

David Gonzalez – Spanish B SL

david.gonzalez@oxnardunion.org

Nikki Hansen - Math HL 

nikki.hansen@oxnardunion.org

Jeff Holloway – History of the Americas and US History Honors TOK

jeff.holloway@oxnardunion.org

Salima Houdoud – French B SL

salima.houdoud@oxnardunion.org

Matt Jackson - Chemistry SL

Matthew.jackson@oxnardunion.org

Shi Young Kim – Visual Art HL and SL

shiyoung.kim@oxnardunion.org

Yen Law – Math HL

Yen.law@oxnardunion.org

Mark Martinez - US History Honors

mark.martinez@oxnardunion.org

Chris Moody – Economics SL

christopher.moody@oxnardunion.org

Verity Olliff – English HL, TOK

verity.olliff@oxnardunion.org

Joan O’Reilly – English SL

joan.oreilly@oxnardunion.org

Rano Sidhu – Chemistry HL year one and year two

rano.sidhu@oxnardunion.org

Sandra Tchiprout – English HL

sandra.tchiprout@oxnardunion.org

William Trude - Design Technology SL

William.trude@oxnardunion.org


The IB Diploma Program Core:  EE, CAS, and TOK (TOK teachers listed above)

Ingrid Brennan – Creativity, Activity, Service (CAS) Advisor

Ingrid.brennan@oxnardunion.org

Margery Ricards – Extended Essay

margery.ricards@oxnardunion.org


IB DIPLOMA PROGRAM COORDINATION AND COUNSELING:

Cuba Montero – IB and Special Programs Counselor

cuba.montero@oxnardunion.org

Lori Wrout – IB Coordination

lori.wrout@oxnardunion.org